23
Oct
08

Standings after three weeks…week four line-up

Post week 3 Standings

  • Mark 10-5
  • Juj 10-5
  • Brent 8-7
  • Blaine 8-7
  • RObert 7-8

And the Week 4 games are:

  • South Fla at UL (+4.5)
  • TT (+1.5) at Kansas
  • Ok St (+12.5) at Texas
  • Georgia (+1.5) at LSU
  • Penn St at Ohio St (+2.5)
6 Responses to “Standings after three weeks…week four line-up”


  1. 1 unklesam
    October 24, 2008 at 1:41 pm

    It seems only fitting that the Baker Brothers happened to be tied in their respective FBB standings in the same week their programs face each other. Will this be that fateful decisive Saturday that will have the taller, better groomed yet younger brother ahead not only in the BCS poll, but also in the W column – or is the shorter, less evolved and yet older brother prove that college football rankings is just another phrase for “paper champions?”

    • South Fla at UL (+4.5)
    Are there many Bulls in South Florida. When I think of South Florida I think of white sand beaches, Big Pimpin Yachts and Mean-ass speedboats, “Say Hello to My Lil Friend” Tony Montana, Crocket and Tubbs, and Pink Flamingos. There’s no stinkin bulls in South Florida!
    When I think of Louisville, I have visions of rolling hills, thoroughbreds, mint julips a go, go and RObert’s delicate yet graceful Red Birds. That fits – everything goes well together.
    Even though the bulls have an identity crisis, I’ll take the SFL to cover over the highflying, graceful red birds!
    • TT (+1.5) at Kansas
    How could the #28 Jayhawks give points to the undefeated #8 Red Raiders?
    The Numbers
    The Red Raiders have not played a ranked team. We had trouble earlier in season against a still unranked Nevada who is now a 3 loss team who most recently lost to a now 3-3 and unranked New Mexico State who happened to put up more points against Nevada than Tech’s “prolific” offense. (The following week, the 2 loss Mizzou was 1 point from doubling our offense production while allowing Nevada to score 2 points less.) A couple of weeks later we hosted a now 3 loss and still unranked Nebraska team where we were very fortunate to intercept a win in overtime. We followed that by showing up in College Station and losing the first half to the 5 loss and still unranked Aggies who almost got beat by the real Army earlier this season.

    Ouch!
    The Red Raiders have caught the injury bug. Crabtree has been walking in a boot all week and hasn’t practiced. Receiver Detron Lewis left the Aggie game twice due to injuries. Safety tackling sensation Daniel Charbonet took himself out of the game with a shoulder injury. A big reason for the resurgence of a running game is Barron Batch, who has an injured leg. Left Tackle Rylan Reed is coming off an ankle injury and Defensive End Rajon Henley also has an ankle injury.

    There Go Da Rent!
    There is good news in Raiderland. If you have not heard, Leach has amazed the college football constituents once again. After a being unable to find a solution for our ever so dependable kicking catastrophes, Mike Leach announced that he will have Matt Williams kick our extra points this weekend. Matt was discovered this year after he kicked a 35 yard field goal between the 3rd and 4th quarter of a home game to win free rent. After making it with ease, Leach, during game, stopped the kid and asked him to come by his office! The Kid starts, but he has to give up the free rent. Also, we’re a cool $Mil from completing the $25 Million Fundraising Campaign to complete an East Side Expansion of Jones AT&T Stadium!

    Prediction….Yes Prediction
    I think the blue packaged, dry but semi sweet and always cool (Todd) Riesling will be trouble for the Raider D. My prediction – whoever wins the turnover battle, wins the game. I’ll take my sentiments, The Red Raiders and the points. And now it’s time for Mangino Farks

    • Ok St (+12.5) at Texas
    Mac Brown is giving 12.5 points to “I’m a Man, I’m 40!” Gundy? OSU’s program is more like The 40 Year Old Virgin of college football programs. OSU is about as comfortable with their success as Andy Stitzer (Steve Carell) is achieving a man -0 –lantern “Ohhh…Kelly Clarkson!”
    This week, I imagine the pregame on-field conversation between Gundy and Mack will range from a variety of topics ranging from recruiting to how The 40 Year Old Virgin is handling success, among other things – and could possibly go like this:
    Gundy: Hey Mack, you’re already killing it in recruiting this year, again. How can I compete with the flagship U of a huge football state, the great city of Austin and a program that has more money than the Roman Catholic Church?
    Mack: Listen, when I was growing pot, I realized that the more seeds I planted, the more pot I could ultimately smoke.
    Gundy: I think I’ve got all the advice I can handle, thank you.
    Mac: Now, don’t get bitter.
    Gundy: I’m not getting bitter. I almost lost a nipple, okay.
    Mack: That was Leach’s idea, and I wasn’t going to say anything, but waxing your chest is the gayest thing you could possibly do. Look I know how to talk to recruits because I observe because I am a novelist.
    Gundy: What? You never told me that.
    Mack: …that’s because I’m not an arrogant prick, Gundy. I mean look at me. I am ugly as funk by traditional standards, but I still get recruits. Aren’t you curious as to how that’s possible?
    Gundy: I am not UGLY AS FUNK.
    Mack I didn’t say that.
    Gundy: Well you implied it.
    Mack: Look, most coaches just straight up, don’t know how to talk to recruits.
    Gundy: What am I supposed to say? I went to magic camp. I am an accomplished ventriloquist. I am a seventh-degree imperial yo-yo master. Oh yeah yo-yo master, I want to play for your school ’cause you’re the yo-yo guy.
    Gundy: I can’t even get the guys I have now to focus since our top 10 ranking.
    Mack: You know what your problem is; you’re putting the ranking on a pedestal.
    Gundy: Everybody says that.
    Gundy: Our defense can’t even stay focused long enough this week in practice to remember to wrap up when tackling.
    Mack: Muschamp puts like this to our guys, “All you got to do is use your instincts. How do you think a lion knows to tackle a gazelle? It’s written, it’s a code written in his DNA, says, “tackle the gazelle.” And believe it or not, in every man there’s a code written that says, “tackle drunk bitches.”
    Gundy: You know what? I respect women! I love women! I respect them so much that I completely stay away from them!
    Mack: You’re gay for saying that.
    Gundy: I’m gay for saying that?
    Mack: You know how I know you’re gay?
    Gundy: How? How do you know I’m gay?
    Mack: Because you macramed yourself in a pair of Bike shorts.
    Gundy: You know how I know you’re gay?
    Mack: How?
    Gundy: I saw you make a spinach dip in a loaf of sour dough bread once
    Mack: I’m starving, I wish I could get some funkin French toast.
    Gundy: How’s Sally?
    Mack: She’s good thanks – you still seeing that co-ed?
    Gundy: I dated this girl for four months, and it was the best thing in my life! Until she went down on this guy in… an Escalade, I think.
    Mack: Where is she now?
    Gundy: Oh she’s dating some pot dealer which is a stupid horrible decision, but hey – that’s her journey. If she wants to be a funking immature bitch and blow everybody…
    Mack: You are never gonna meet anyone with that kind of mentality about women, you sick son of a bitch!
    Gundy: Who the… Who the funk are you to put me on trial? I’ve never even met you. So why don’t you back the shizzle off all right? And stop with the inquisition.
    Mack: That’s how you talk?
    Gundy: You know what I don’t have to answer to you, you ain’t my bitch.
    Know what I sayin’? So shizzle man, funk it!
    Mack: Now you bein’ condescending see, you’ve been warned ‘aight? Now let’s move forward amicably.
    Gundy: Just stop calming me down and tell me what I should do.
    Mack: Hey Gundy, don’t let it bother you. It’s okay not to have a consistent program. Not everybody’s a consistently winning coach. You, uh, what are you 25?
    Gundy: I’m 40.
    Mack: Oh shizzle, you gotta get on that. I’ll see ya.
    Gundy (as Mack is walking away): I’m very discreet… but I will haunt your dreams.

    The Orange Aggies new found success comes to a crashing halt like the T-Boone money train. The Horns will exploit the fabrication successes of Xerox State University, and cover.
    • Georgia (+1.5) at LSU
    The Tigers in Tiger Stadium will crush the Bulldogs!
    • Penn St at Ohio St (+2.5)
    Go Buckeyes – Ohio St and the Points.

  2. 2 Julie
    October 24, 2008 at 2:53 pm

    South Fla at UL (+4.5)
    This one’s going to be tight. The Bulls lead the series 3-2 but their two losses to Lu’vulle have been on the road. I guess that the loser of this game is out of the hunt for the Big East so they will both be fired up. The Bulls have a few key injuries and they’re on the road, so I’m going to take the ‘ville to cover.

    TT (+1.5) at Kansas
    The fact that Tech is undefeated going into this game is irrelevant. They haven’t played anyone. Except apparently the mighty Baylor Bears (this is my mean face). The fact that KU has lost 9 of their 10 meetings does matter here however. But I think only to serve as a motivator to a much improved Jayhawk team led by the best kitten QB Kansas has ever seen. I think Tech suffers its first of several (close) losses against a ranked team this week. Hawks get’er done.

    Ok St (+12.5) at Texas
    Can we just bask for a fleeting moment in the Longhorns defeat of the Mizzou Tigers and gelled-up cheese balls everywhere? Taking into consideration the ratio of gel to visor on Ok St’s coach, I say the campaign continues and Texas covers easily at home this week!

    Georgia (+1.5) at LSU
    I know Georgia hasn’t been that impressive in their recent wins against Vanderbilt and Tennessee, but I just have a feeling the Bulldogs will pull out a win tomorrow.

    Penn St at Ohio St (+2.5)
    Man, what a great line-up this week! I have to go with the Nittany Lions in this game. Mostly just because they’re called the Nittany Lions, but also because I really want to see Joe Pa go out on top so I find it emotionally impossible to root against him.

  3. October 24, 2008 at 3:17 pm

    South Fla at UL (+4.5)
    Gotta go with the Bulls here…the much improved L’ville offense will be contained by Selvie and company. Grothe should have a Bradford-esque day against the porous Louisville secondary. The Bulls cover.

    TT (+1.5) at Kansas
    Who is not shocked over this line? I don’t even know where to start. Granted, Tech hasn’t played anyone but KU hasn’t beat anyone. I’ll assume Vegas knows something I don’t…so I’m going with the Hawks to cover, on Homecoming weekend, at home.

    Ok St (+12.5) at Texas
    Okie State has traditionally been the benefactor of the annual Texas loss-of–focus game — recall the two impressive comebacks by VY. That said, even if the offense were to come out flat the defense is so solid it would prevent the game from getting away from them. The Cowboy defense is mediorce at best so I expect Texas to establish a balanced attack before the end of the half and completely roll in the second half. Texas does not lower the “boom” as early as they did against meth-zou but eventually does away with the OSt love-fest in the polls and covers.

    Georgia (+1.5) at LSU
    Still not on the Miles bandwagon….UGA makes a statement on the road and covers.

    Penn St at Ohio St (+2.5)
    OSU misfires here and Penn State is on a path to the Orange Bowl….a scary thought. The BCS gods intervene and Ohio State wins and covers.

  4. 4 hphorn
    October 25, 2008 at 5:09 am

    • South Fla at UL (+4.5)
    Doing my research – Just about every Big East team not named Syracuse is alive in the conference race, meaning every game going forward could have BCS implications. South Florida remains the highest-rated of the league schools, yet has already lost to Pittsburgh and doesn’t have much margin for error. The Bulls regrouped with a blowout of Syracuse on Saturday, and had an added bonus with the returns of DE George Selvie, NT Terrell McClain, and LB Brouce Mompremier to the starting lineup. While Louisville has played well since gagging in the opener with Kentucky, it hasn’t exactly been through the gauntlet over the last month. A loss to Connecticut has been sandwiched by wins over Tennessee Tech, Kansas State, Memphis, and Middle Tennessee State. If the Cards want to be taken seriously as a contender, they’ll need to knock off South Florida Saturday afternoon.

    Louisville’s recent run of success has been partially due to its competition. That’s about to end with South Florida coming to town. The Bulls will expose the Cardinal defense behind Grothe and RB Mike Ford, while getting a couple of key turnovers from the defense. By early in the second half, Louisville will be in catch-up mode, which is no way to perforate the USF defense. Prediction: South Florida 30 Lu-vulle 21

    • TT (+1.5) at Kansas
    Sorry Brent. I NEED Tech to win this game so when they beat us next week, we don’t drop too far in the rankings. A little commentary from the Barking Carnival – ”I think Tech wins this game by 14 if Ruffin McNeil can find his balls. When Tech pressures on defense, they look like the second or third best defense in the league. When they don’t, they’re a unit comprised of West Texas hairdressers.”
    Get yer guns up! I’ll take Tech in a shootout.

    • Ok St (+12.5) at Texas
    Some pretty funny stuff from the Barking Carnival. I like Blake Gideon and Earl Thomas to respond nicely to Will Muschamp’s asking them 4,000 times this week, “Who do you hate?”–to which they had to scream, “The play fake!”
    To add three more:
    1. Trust the front 7 to stop the run
    2. Double Dez
    3. Pray to all that’s holy that an injured secondary can hold up
    Texas barely covers in a great game.

    • Georgia (+1.5) at LSU
    Georgia is as good an SEC road team as they come, but LSU is built on the lines to slug it out in close, tension-filled battles like this one will be. The LSU kickers, led by Colt David, have hit 9-of-10 field goals so far, while freshman Blair Walsh has been rock-solid hitting 11-of-15. This week, David will hit his key late field goal; Walsh will miss his. LSU by 3

    • Penn St at Ohio St (+2.5)
    A little research – Offensively, the Buckeyes are about .75 yards per play better with Beanie Wells and Terrell Pryor in the backfield together. That trend should only improve as the freshman phenom gets more acclimated to big time college football. And in Penn State’s only contest against a dual threat QB, Juice Williams of Illinois moved the Illini offense to the tune of nearly 400 yards of total offense in a relatively close game. In Happy Valley.

    Look for Penn State to struggle offensively with its first test against a top 25 defense. In the shoe. At night. The stench of freshly gasoline doused couches in the air. Watch Tressel protect his young QB by moving the ball on the ground, biding his time for the big play over the top. tOSU wins and covers the 2.5.

  5. 5 robert2917
    October 25, 2008 at 7:32 am

    * South Fla at UL (+4.5)
    Mark pretty much hit the nail on the head on this one… In addition, the Cards struggle against dual threat QB’s (ala Pat White)… They disposed of Josh Freeman who has an NFL-caliber rocket, but is as mobile as Refrigerator Perry in quicksand… Grothe can hurt you both in and out of the pocket… It wouldn’t surprise me to see UL win this one, but I don’t see enough consistency to make me feel that good about it… Mark had the score about right and I could see either team on the good end of it… But I can see USF on the good end of it 7 times out of 10 which means I gotta take ’em… USF covers…

    * TT (+1.5) at Kansas
    The money has been coming hard and heavy on TT since this line opened… IT is now KU (+1)… What does the betting public see that I don’t…??? I see a TT team that scores in bunches against sub-par defenses and gives up points in bunches to sub-par teams… And I see a KU team that plays pretty good defense and has the most underrated QB in the conference… All I hear about around here is Colt (don’t touch me or you’ll get a flag you big meanie) McCoy, Chase (my barber is a meth-head) Daniels, Graham (don’t call me Cliff Kingsberry) Harrel and Sam Bradford (who actually deserves the hype)… Reesing is the guy who we never hear about… I’ll take him here and they will score often on a TT defense that made the Nebraska and A&M offenses look like the ’08 Pats… And I like KU’s defense to limit (not shut down) the TT offense that is banged up right now… I’ll take KU and I don’t even think it will be close…

    * Ok St (+12.5) at Texas
    Isn’t McCoy saying he is coming back for his senior year kinda like Neil Diamond saying he likes shiny sequin shirts…??? Or Britney Spears saying prefers menthols…??? In other words, tell me something I don’t know… Seriously, what else would he be doing next year, wrapping burritos at Maudies…??? What, did any of us think he was going to follow in the footsteps of Shea Morenz and Major Applewhite and have a stellar pro career…??? Sheese…
    As for the game, do the Horns ever have to leave their home state to play a game…??? I know the OU game was in the Cotton Bowl and that was supposedly a neutral site (although no one told the refs that), and I’m guessing they consider that their tough roadie of the year… Texas is on a roll (and why not with that schedule) and the roll ends in Lawrence in a few weeks… But until then, I’ll take them to pound OkSt here… Give me the Longhomes…

    * Georgia (+1.5) at LSU
    LSU at home is the obvious selection here… Georgia is a sham who couldn’t bet a 2 loss Alabama team at home (believe me, Alabama is a 2 loss team)… LSU rolls.

    * Penn St at Ohio St (+2.5)
    We’ve seen the past couple years how OSU fares against fast teams that don’t play the Big10 “3 yards and a cloud of dust” style game… Pretty bad… Penn St isn’t your typical Big10 team and is on a march of destiny (to play Florida in the NC game) and they break the string tonight and win in Columbus… And they cover the spread in doing it…

    Enjoy the action.

  6. October 25, 2008 at 6:14 pm

    Congrats to the Cards, Horns, and Red Raiders…all put on impressive, helmet sticker performances today.


Leave a Reply

Photos on Flickr

October 2008
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Blog Stats

  • 13,897 hits

