06
Nov
07

Week 11 Line-up

Here’s this week’s line-up

  • Louisville (+16) at West Virginia…this is a Thursday night game
  • Kansas (-6) at Oklahoma St
  • Texas Tech (+6.5) at Texas
  • Wildcard: Florida (-6.5) at South Carolina
  • Wildcard: tamu (+19.5) at mizzou

Louisville at West Virginia
I’m going out on a limb here and will take the Cards to cover. Reason….two fold. One, everyone will most likely go with the Mountaineers, being the logical pick, so this is a chance to pick up a point. Second, Louisville still has a chance to salvage this season with a win tonight. I don’t think they can win but they will pull out all the stops against a defense that was exposed by what has become a mediocre South Florida team. Yes, factoring in the putrid Louisville D makes me cringe as I type this but the play of Brohm and a few turn-overs keep it within the line. Go Cards…

KUKU at Oklahoma St.
Basketball as the bridesmaid…that is the talk coming out of Lawrence. Self and co., who is a huge KU football fan, play twice this weekend and all the talk is about football post season possibilities…Holiday, Cotton, BCS….

Storyline….KU will handle the run. The ‘man’, who has salivated over the Nebraska tape over over a week now, won’t hesitate to turn the majority of the looks over to their talented receiving and tight end corp. KU will get their points, OSU’s secondary is horrific, both on the ground and through the air. This one will be a shoot-out with KU wearing the Pokes down late in the game. KU covers, in a night game, where we can only hope Mangino breaks out the velour once again. Come on Velvet Phog.

Manigno Velour Sweats

Texas vs Tech

I’m torn on this one and looking for any stat that will push me one way or the other. The one that jumped out is, once again, Texas’ secondary has been exposed and Tech, as always, is proficient through the air. Charles has been the difference maker over the last two week but his play alone wont be enough to cover the spread. I’ll take Tech to cover.

Wildcard: South Carolina vs. Florida Florida knows the Ol Ball Coach hype will garner the attention, hell I picked this one, and will turn this into a statement game. Gators cover.

Wildcard:tamu vs mizzou missouri is sick of hearing about the 76 KU put up last week and will go for 77. mizzou covers while Fran searchs out a Columbia strip club in the middle the third quarter.

10 Responses to “Week 11 Line-up”


  1. 1 hphorn
    November 7, 2007 at 2:37 am

    Look who has both thier Football and Basketball teams in the Top 10? HUGE conrats KU.

    With West Virginia somewhat still in the BCS race and trying to impress in the final weeks of the season, let me take the Mountaineers to cover the 16.

  2. 2 unclsam
    November 7, 2007 at 6:51 am

    I agree with Mark that the Mountaineers need a good BCS showing and I don’t know where the Cards are emotionally. Although the Cards have a good offense, the Mountaineers will run the ball at will and keep Cards offense on the sidelines and out of rhythm. I’ll go with the Mountaineers being 3 possessions better and cover the 16.

  3. 3 Julie
    November 7, 2007 at 9:22 am

    Louisville (+16) at West Virginia
    ESPN is calling Louisville “one of the nation’s biggest disappointments.” I would have gone with our 43rd president, but that’s just me. You gotta feel for Brohm who’s thrown for over 3,000 yards this year though. But I just don’t think the Louisville D can stop WV’s rushing game. I’ll take the Mountaineers to cover.

    Kansas (-6) at Oklahoma St
    Fortunately Brent saved a seat for me on the bandwagon. Rock, Chalk it up.

    (And a little bonus fun from the BC live blog about the Texas v. Ok St game as Henry James cuts to the mounting KU score several times with these classic quotes: “Kansas has put up 69 on Nebraska. First time Mark Mangino and 69 didn’t result in a woman’s suffocation.” Eeeuw. And my favorite, “Kansas is beating Nebraska 76-39. Brandon Rush has 23 points.”)

    Texas Tech (+6.5) at Texas
    This is going to be a great game. “Colt McCoy is more plucky than Tanner Boyle in The Bad News Bears.” True that, yo. He’s 14, and he’s a man!

    But can we stop the Raider offense? Thus far, Mack is (and I quote) “not pleased”. “We’ve given up too many big plays in the last two weeks,” he said. “We’re not pleased … the defense isn’t pleased and the defensive coaches aren’t pleased that we gave up too many yards, and we’ll have to play better than that against Tech.” Damnit it butter teeth, them’s fightin’ words.

    But you know what? The Longhorns might (just might) be gaining a little confidence after pulling out all of these 4th quarter wins. What they cannot afford to do is go down to Tech early because there is no recovery against the relentless Leach piracy. He likes to kick you when you’re down, then kick you again, then spit on you, then call you unspeakable things, then kick you one last time on 4th down before walking away. I like the ‘horns to get up early and cover.

    Florida (-6.5) at South Carolina
    I just can’t do the whole “head ball coach” thing. I’m down on it and I like Urban Myer. Reason enough for me. I’ll take the Gators.

    tamu (+19.5) at mizzou
    “Chase Daniels is the real deal.” Vomit. A&M in general. Double vomit. Ok, let’s move to mascots then. Do I like fuzzy tigers better than wimpy miniature collies? Yes. I’ll take the Tigers to give Franchione a proper farewell at home.

  4. 4 robert2917
    November 8, 2007 at 10:51 am

    I’ll take WVU to score early and often… Anything that will hasten the departure of our current head coach… One saving grace though; UK and Billy Clyde lost to Gardner-Webb in Rupp last night… Gardner-Webb, the school formerly known as Boiling Springs Junior College not so long ago… Damn that was sweet, but not as sweet as the sUcK fans lining up on the Kennedy Bridge ready to take a plunge into the icy waters of the Ohio…

    Ole Billy Clyde is wishing he was back in College Station right about now…

    WVU 45, UL 24…

  5. November 8, 2007 at 7:44 pm

    4th quarter and the Ville is coming through for me….

  6. November 8, 2007 at 8:37 pm

    with that I’m in a tie for second place….

  7. 7 robert2917
    November 9, 2007 at 6:43 am

    Good call with the ‘ville B2… If you would have told me the Cards D would hold WVU to 24 points, I would have taken them too… Unfortunately, the WVU scored 2 TD’s on UL turnovers… Que sera, sera though…

  8. 8 robert2917
    November 9, 2007 at 4:40 pm

    Kansas (-6) at Oklahoma St
    Give me OK State… In a shootout, take the home team and the points…

    Texas Tech (+6.5) at Texas
    Can’t see Texas laying another egg at home like they did vs K-State… I think they lay it to Tech riding the emotion of last weeks’ win in Stillwater… I’ll take the Horns…

    Wildcard: Florida (-6.5) at South Carolina
    Give me the old ball coach to cover… Lose, but cover…

    Wildcard: tamu (+19.5) at mizzou
    Mizzou should spank the basically coachless Aggies… I’ll take the Tigers here…

  9. 9 unclsam
    November 9, 2007 at 5:42 pm

    # Kansas (-6) at Oklahoma St
    Vegas loves the Jayhawks – I love the Jayhawks. Again tough game with an even more difficult one to follow is brutal for the Jayhawks who respectfully haven’t been there before. Man I hope the Orange Aggies don’t ruin Mangino’s run (obviously no pun intended, Mangino’s run!) but they are capable. I feel the Jayhawks D if for real and the offense is certainly better than OSU’s D. Jayhawks cover.

    # Texas Tech (+6.5) at Texas
    Tech’s outcome tomorrow depends greatly on which team will show up.

    If the Pink Faders enter DKR stadium this is my post:
    Jamaal Charles right, Jamaal Charles left, Jamaal Charles up the middle. Opie McCoy fakes the handoff to Jamaal Charles and runs for 20. And do it all over again with an occasional incomplete pass to make it exciting. That’s the prescription for Texas to beat Tech – simple as that. With all of those 4 and 5 star recruits, no way Tech and their system offense and slow defense can even hang with the Horns. I’m taking Tech in an emotional pick, but why even bother playing game. Maybe next year.

    If Tech shows up and plays to their potential, my post would sound like that of the Red Raider Radio Broadcast.
    “Touchdown Red Raiders” – “That was Crabtabulous” “Tech Wins, Tech Wins.”

    Prediction?…. yes Predicition. I have no idea – I’ll take Tech and the points.

    # Wildcard: Florida (-6.5) at South Carolina
    Tebo and the Gators cover

    # Wildcard: tamu (+19.5) at mizzou
    The Fabulous Baker Brother Arch rivals – As far as I’m concerned, this is the game to determine who is “the king of the dipshits” (A little 16 Candles reference for you 80s fans). I can’t rule for the aggies, so I’ll take the tigers to cover.

  10. 10 hphorn
    November 10, 2007 at 6:41 am

    Kansas (-6) at Oklahoma St
    Playing a night game in Stillwater is brutal, but I think KU had the mindset to weather the storm. Again, KU a Top 5 team in Hoops and Football – whoa sister. I’m taking KU to win and cover.

    Texas Tech (+6.5) at Texas
    A good old fashioned shoot out is about to happen this afternoon. I can’t believe this POS Texas team is 8-2. I will say this…that game last week vs. Okie St. was about as exciting as it gets. Tech is still a year away…and so is Texas, but I’ll take Tech to cover the 6.5.

    Wildcard: Florida (-6.5) at South Carolina
    At S.C., I’ll take the Gamecocks to cover.

    Wildcard: tamu (+19.5) at mizzou
    Much like Nebraska, this a$m team has already quit on Fran. A very talented Mizzou team buries them at home.


Leave a Reply

Photos on Flickr

November 2007
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Blog Stats

  • 13,898 hits

